Skip to content

Hello!

April 8, 2011

Hello, my name is Gina Agostinelli and I’m the newest member of the Andover Liquor staff.  I started to become interested in wine in 2004.  My aunt and uncle had just moved to Andover and my uncle would go to Andover Liquors to buy his wine.  There he met Andrea DiFiore who would introduce him and me to the wonderful world of wine.  I’ve been hooked ever since.   Wine is a passion of mine that I constantly want to further explore.   I was thrilled to work for a company that I’ve been a long time customer of. 

When it comes to wine it’s very hard for me to pick a favorite as I love all different grape varietals and what they have to offer.  From a nice crisp Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand to a bold and luscious Cabernet Sauvignon from Napa Valley.  However, with that being said I do adore Italian wines.  I don’t know what it is?  Maybe it’s because I’m of Italian decent and it’s just in my DNA to love that particular country of wines.  A couple of top contenders for me would be a 2003 Barolo or Brunello Di Montacellino.  The reason for those two wines really sticking out in my head is a simple one…..it was the bouquet.  Don’t get me wrong, they tasted fabulous as well, but those wines in particular were an experience.  I could have smelled them all day long and it took me on a journey that I didn’t want to come back from.  To me, wine is just that… an experience. 

I have gone to many tastings over the years, read many books, magazine and internet articles and I’m fascinated with all aspects of wine.  I recently attended Boston University for a course on wine and look forward to expanding my knowledge further.  So if you’re in the area please feel free to stop in and say hello.

Cheers,

Gina Agostinelli

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Catie Hubley permalink
    April 9, 2011 10:04 am

    Welcome! Looking forward to meeting you soon!

  2. Melissa permalink
    April 11, 2011 2:43 pm

    Congrats Gina! So proud of you! Can’t wait to reap from the benefits of your knowledge!

  3. April 11, 2011 11:26 pm

    Congratulations Gina!! Gina definitely knows her stuff. I have had many a wine tasting with her and she always introduces me to new, wonderful wines.

  4. Jonathang permalink
    April 12, 2011 4:25 pm

    Gina, you rock! I need to come up there and buy some wine….soon!

  5. Kathy permalink
    April 17, 2011 6:49 am

    Congratulations!!! I’m so proud of you!!!

Leave a Reply

