Skip to content

Andrea’s Monthly Wine Pick

February 1, 2011

There’s something special about this producer and what he is doing in both vineyard and winery! 

My job brings me to lots of great places (I am a lucky girl) where I get to meet wine makers and hear their stories, dreams and visions.  I was invited to have dinner with the winemaker of an estate in Chateauneuf du Pape and I was so excited! But, when I met him, my excitement doubled when I found that he is only 29 years old (making wine at 29, and living the dream…and not too bad on the eyes either!) His name is Alexandre, and this is his story.  He is the middle child, born between two sisters. Six years ago his dad, Christian Favier, told him it was time to leave the nest of the family winery and go out to find his passion. If his passion turned out to be wine after all, his father would encourage him to come back to the winery; if not, he was free to follow his dreams outside the family business. He left on the fast track to the States headed for New York City.  Alexandre was loving life in the city when he received a call that his dad had suffered a stroke. He rushed back to France, the winery, and his father — to continue his father’s work in the winery and in the vineyards. Sadly, his dad was never able to return to the winery again, but Alexandre had found his calling in life: to be a winemaker.

Although Alexandre had never made wine before, the process seemed like second nature from the start. I would like to make it known that he is a gifted and very talented young man! I have to admit that I was in awe of him that evening; he had a magical smile and a personality to go along with it.   He is truly gifted and his efforts are taking the winery to new heights.

We spoke about the prices in Chateauneuf du Pape, because his wines are priced lower than most. He stated that if wine makers keep ratcheting the prices up and up and up, people will not be able to afford his wines, and what good would that do?!  I couldn’t agree with him more. When I first fell in love with wine, Chateauneuf du Pape was an early favorite of mine (and it still is.)  Over time–I couldn’t believe it– but with every accolade the wines received, the prices went up and up and up, turning Chateauneuf more into a “special occasion” wine than an every night wine. Talk about frustrating!

That night, Alexandre unveiled his newest love to a room full of wine geeks/merchants: a Vin de Pays called  l’Apostrophe.  The fruit is sourced from the Rhone and Chateauneuf du Pape. The wine is made up of three grapes: 70% Grenache, 20% Cinsault, 10% Syrah. All of these grapes are common in these areas and widely planted in the region.  The true taste of the wine was upon us.  We all did what we do best: examine the wine, smell the wine, taste the wine. 

This is AMAZING wine!

I was blown away as soon as L’apostrophe hit my lips.  At long last, I found it!   I wanted to scream from the roof tops—this is going to be a great start to the New Year ( fresh wine – new wine!)  “When can I get it?!” I almost screamed out loud!! I was so excited by this wine and I didn’t even know the price yet. I wanted to show my poker face, but we all know I am not very good at that.  “Well, it will take 8 weeks to arrive to Boston,” he claimed.  Ok, I took out my blackberry and looked at the date…I couldn’t wait!! I counted the days for it to arrive. I was ready to start elbowing my friends (other merchants, I want it!!) When he unveiled the price it was more good news, the wine was priced so low. I started to think, “It can’t be – it must be a mistake…”  I thought , “He must have quoted the wrong price to us, getting confused by the Euro to Dollar exchange…”  But I re-confirmed and almost jumped for joy-it’s only $15.99!! This should be everyone’s new house red!

Alexandre has been given an incredible gift, at 29 years old he is making some of the best wines–and not one lacks in complexity. Just to think, if this is what he is able to create at 29 years old, what will he achieve in another 10 to 20 years? This young man is the future of winemakers – and future in this region. I can do nothing but praise his winemaking abilities!

I can assure you this wine is something you will want to drink every night! 

Tasting notes: Deep ruby/purple color along with lots of dusty, loamy soil notes intermixed with notions of pepper, black cherries, spice, and flowers. Pure, and medium-bodied with some light silky tannins to be resolved.  It is a gutsy, delicious red!

It pays to get involved! Tell us what you think about this wine, and you could win an Andover Liquors Gift Certificate!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Catie permalink
    February 1, 2011 11:45 am

    I just want to come in and see you shout from the roof tops and jump for joy……………Oh, and sample this wine too! Sounds interesting. Is it available now??

  2. February 1, 2011 11:49 am

    Its on the shelve and ready for purchase ! Come on down!

  3. Sue permalink
    February 1, 2011 1:42 pm

    I wish I had a snowmobile as I would put on my goggles and buzz on down there for a bottle. My work is closed tomorrow because of the storm, so a glass of this would be divine! Save me a bottle. I’ll be down as soon as I dig out! 🙂

    • Andrea permalink*
      February 1, 2011 1:55 pm

      Sue soon we will be all on snowmobiles it will be our primary transporation! Hope to see you this weekend you must try this wine L’apostrophe!

      Thanks,
      Andrea

  4. Rich Guardino permalink
    February 1, 2011 1:54 pm

    ok Andrea- looks like i’ll have to stop by and get some of this. i need to brak away from all those full- bodied cabs!

    • Andrea permalink*
      February 1, 2011 1:57 pm

      Rich – you should! Its something you will enjoy for sure!

  5. Martin permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:23 pm

    That sounds luscious, Andrea. How would you pair it with foods?

    • Andrea permalink*
      February 1, 2011 2:30 pm

      Well that night we had the following dishes we were all sharing and the wine went well with all of them from grilled Mahi Mahi and a hanger steak and braised pork shoulder and it went with all of those dishes – Its a wine that could go well with a lot of different foods. Again, its my little house pour!

  6. Alise Herrera permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:46 pm

    Sounds great. Since generally – if you like it, I like it – can’t wait to try some!

  7. Chet permalink
    February 1, 2011 3:25 pm

    Sounds great, thanks for the write-up Andrea, can’t wait to try. I’ll get down there to pick up a couuple bottles once I can DIG OUT of all the SNOW in my driveway…

  8. Debbie and Bob Solomon permalink
    February 1, 2011 3:51 pm

    Andrea,
    We love the story,and despite all the wine we bought there Sat,we will be
    there asap to get a couple of bottles of this l”apostrophe! See you soon,
    and save us 2 bottles if you can!
    Debbie

Trackbacks

  1. The Best Fine Wines » Andrea's Monthly Wine Pick « Message In A Bottle
  2. Our February Incentive Winner! « Message In A Bottle

Leave a Reply

