Skip to content

Bubbles…On A Budget

October 5, 2010

Here are my top three alcoholic beverages…in no particular order;

  1. Beer
  2. Champagne
  3. Whisk(e)y

Yup.  I’m a big fan of the bubbles.  It’s one of those drinks I don’t have to “be in the mood” to drink — Champagne time is anytime!  One of my favorite things I used to do in college (especially if I was in a grumped out mood…)  was to purchase a bottle of Champagne and a box of Godiva chocolates and cozy up on the couch to watch a movie (more often than not, it was a Disney flick…)  Always an instant pick-me-up!

Lindsey says "click on the picture and buy me!"

I absolutely love Champagne…but it’s hard to swallow $50 of product in one sitting (I make the exception for whiskey/hard liquor…since it lasts a tad bit longer than a bottle of bubbles!)  For a long time, our only alternatives to the “real stuff” were products such as Asti, Korbel, Freixenet, and (my “favorite”…(and a shout out to my dear friend Janice)) the always cheap André.  Thankfully–winemakers across the world have been stepping up their quality bubbly production to bring some decent values to the market.   Prosecco (Italy), Cava (Spain) , Cremant de Loir (France) and many sparklers from the USA provide excellent alternatives to a bottle of Champagne (I’ll probably tell you about my choice selections from those regions another day), but let me tell you about my absolute #1 favorite above all of those…

 
Charles de Fere Reserve Blanc de Blancs
 
(lips smacking and mouth watering…I feel like Pavlov’s dog right now)
 

Charles de Fere is a tasty little number just a stones throw away from the designated Champagne Region.  There have been talks about extending the borders of the Champagne AOC and if so, this producer would be included among the ranks. 

Our regular customers already know how we feel about this wine (we basically love it like a fat kid loves cake…) — as we voted it one of our top 10 selections of the year in 2008, and it’s still one of our top sellers to this day.  What makes it so special, you ask??  Well, it has all the bang for not a lot of buck.  Dominated by Chardonnay, it’s all around a bit on the leaner side of things.  Lemon zest, golden apple, flowers, wet slate, orange pulp and sugared gumdrops weave together on the nose.  A rich mouthful of toasted hazelnuts, tart apples, melons and a long, slightly steely finish bring the sparkler to a  stunning close.  It has all the hallmarks of a traditional, classic Champagne…with one exception.  It’s only $12.99…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Catie permalink
    October 5, 2010 4:58 pm

    Champagne is one of those things that I, at least, never think to have on a regular basis…….it’s always been one of those things you save for a special occasion. You’ve peaked my interest…and how can you complain at the price!

    • October 5, 2010 5:20 pm

      It is one of those things that gets cubby-holed into a “special occasion” drink. What the non-Champagne drinker doesn’t realize is that there are soooo many different styles that can pair with a vast array of foods. One of my favorite pairings is a warm pistachio raspberry cake with fresh whipped cream paired with a sparlking rose. Divine!

  2. Alise Herrera permalink
    October 5, 2010 6:33 pm

    I have two bottles of Prosecco I’ve received over the past few months and really didn’t have a special occasion coming up to drink them at – forget it – I’m off right now for a Tuesday night treat! Thanks for the little push.

    • October 6, 2010 11:52 am

      How were your Tuesday bubbles? Fantastic & delicious, I hope…

  3. Chuck Hanes permalink
    October 7, 2010 11:28 am

    I am glad you are not on of those websites that sends you emails frequently or daily. They are such a pest. I unsubscribe immediately to those sites that are so thoughtless. Your present frequency is fine.

Trackbacks

  1. Bubbles…on a Budget; Parte Dos! « Message In A Bottle

Leave a Reply

