Skip to content

Living the (Miller) High Life

September 11, 2010

Your lesson for the day…it’s not what you drink, but how you drink.

I am slightly house poor these days, yet I still need some beer to fill the top shelf of the fridge.  Enter Miller High Life (stop cringing to yourself and hear me out.)  At 8.95 a twelve pack (plus deposit and tax–duh, we’re in MA), it’s the ultimate budget beer.  I’ve been on a PBR kick at bars, but Andover Liquors can’t stock everything, so Miller High Life is my next best bet for “cheap” beers.  Most definitely not the best example of an American Lager, but I can’t drink Chimay and the like every day…so Miller High Life can fill this void until I’m in the mood for a “special” beer.

Being in the retail business, I’m not often allowed your typical schedule.  9-5 just doesn’t cut it in this world.  Who else would sell you delicious drinks on a Friday evening (when she could be out with her friends, drinking said delicious drinks–but I’m dedicated–I like you guys…that’s why you see me on Friday nights…moving on…)  So my schedule is a little whacked.  It rotates.  I don’t mind. I’m flexible in more ways than one.  (Wait…what??  Get you minds out of the gutters!  Seriously, I am flexible.  I did gymnastics for 15 years.  I can do splits and stuff.) 

What was I saying?  Oh yeah…my schedule basically boils down to whatever the store needs it to be…You need me to cover register because Chris is out sick? I’ll work a night on register.  Oh wait, Maggie has a commitment on Thursday?  I’ll cover.  I’m basically the bench player of Andover Liquors.  Needless to say…I try to make the most of my days off.

Best lunch...ever.

Case in point; two weeks ago –on a Thursday afternoon.  It was during that really yucky, humid spell we were having–and I had to get some chores done.  Laundry? Check.  Dishes?  Check.  Vacuuming?  Check!  Delicious lunchtime treats…double check!!  I had made some lobster and crabmeat salad the night before, and I was enjoying the leftovers for lunch after my productive day of cleaning.  Why not indulge and make the most of my afternoon?  So around 1pm, I made myself a lobster/crabby roll, opened the fridge and grabbed a Miller High Life. walked into the living room, flipped on some Spongebob Squarepants, and got down to business (re:eating and drinking.)  Yes folks, I had a MILLER HIGH LIFE.  With lunch.  While watching cartoons.  And it was terrific…best lunch I’ve ever had…

Clearly, Riley the dog has opposing views on Miller High Life. Screw him...suits me just fine!

And that’s the point.  All too often we put too much focus on price or what other people tell you to drink (Robert Parker Jr, anyone?) All too often I have to convince (beg, plead with, etc.) some customers that at 10.99 bottle of wine can contain delicious, drinkable juice.  If you spend $50 on a Napa Cab, it is not a gaurentee that it will be “good.”  So, my advice??  Screw it all.  Grab whatever is in the fridge–whatever YOU LIKE TO DRINK– and enjoy the moment.  So what if it’s cheap.  Does it provide you with happiness?  Great!  Who cares if Tom, Dick and Robert Parker don’t like it.   It’s all about being in, and enjoying…(the high) life.

Lesson learned.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom Ellis permalink
    September 17, 2010 5:30 pm

    This has to be the most “out of the box” type of story. Meaning, I was very surprised at myself and my attitude towards Miller HIgh Life. I am reminded to step outside my comfort zone and try new things even if I tried it many years ago.

    One take away is that don’t judge a book or a look until you try it. Nice job. Upbeat and appreciate your efforts.

    • September 18, 2010 10:56 am

      Thanks, Tom.

      I feel like so many of our choices today are determined by marketing and advertising hype–and often we don’t take the time to discover what we truly enjoy. On the flip side of that, there comes a stigma of certain products not being of quality or worthy of our consumption (re: Miller High Life, etc.) I also think the average customer likes being told what is “good” or what they should buy–because it’s the easy way out (except for you, of course!)

      We truly appeciate you taking the time to read our stuff.

  2. Maggie permalink
    September 17, 2010 6:59 pm

    Thank you, Linds! As a lover of fine things it may seem odd that I, too, love an ice-cold High Life now and then. Truly the champagne of beers!

Leave a Reply

