Skip to content

Dealing with Disappointment…

August 19, 2010

So here’s a question for you…

What do you do when you buy something and you, after first (second, and maybe even a third) taste–absolutely don’t like?  For me–it practically turns into a funeral.  Grey skies, tears and sadness abound.  Ok, so maybe that’s a bit extreme…but I tell you–it comes pretty darn close…

Needless to say–this is exactly what happened to me the other night.  Now, I won’t name names, or slander a good breweries name to the masses–but man, I can’t tell you how disappointed I was.  I guess I did work myself up a bit.  I’ve been staring at this particular bottle of beer for about two weeks–so clearly there was a boatload of anticipation.  There was an opportune moment–the beer I had been eyeing is a big, bold Chocolate Stout–and last Friday night was (finally) cool enough to enjoy a delicious stout after my shift. 

Sooo…cut to me, in my kitchen–9:30 pm on a Friday night, slowly pouring my chilled beer into a big tulip glass (better to taste all that delicious, stouty flavor, my dear!)  All I could think about was a yummy drinkable dessert.  It’s what I had been craving!  I plant my butt in a cozy chair, flip on the tube, and get to savoring.

Or at least, I attempted to. 

What’s that I smell?  Maybe a hint of…burnt rubber?  What the?!?  Add a harsh alcoholic burn and a dash of bitter baking chocolate on the finish–and I permanently had a pouty face on for the rest of the evening.  Night (somewhat) ruined.  Game over.  I sat in my chair, force-sipped and subsequently pouted through all two or so hours of  “Men In Black” on TBS (very funny?  meh…not really…) 

You would think, by working in this business–you know enough about your own palate to make informed decisions (with or without prior research into a particular item), but sometimes…you just never know! 

 But seriously–what do you do?  I spent twelve valuable dollars on ONE BEER (yes, a bit excessive–but that’s another story in and of itself), and I’m left totally disappointed and utterly beside myself.  There was no fault with the product; just plain and simple: I. Didn’t. Like. It.  And, it’ s not like this is a new experience for me…I’ve poured my fair share of unappealing alcohol down the drain to no fault of the product.  I keep undrunk wine for cooking (this collection is a bit excessive at this point now…)  Liquor gets tucked into that cabinet for some luck guest or some wild recipe.  But that doesnt make it any easier–actually, it makes it worse!  All this product (and my hard-earned money) hanging around, mocking me. I can’t force myself to sit and drink it–just because I spent money it–that’s pure torture to me.  So what dooo you do??  Suggestions?  Recepies?  ANYTHING!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink*
    August 19, 2010 3:55 pm

    So not fair not sharing the name? I NEED TO KNOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. August 19, 2010 10:55 pm

    why??? you don’t drink beer!
    anyways…just beacuse i don’t like something doesn’t mean it’s no good 🙂

Leave a Reply

