Skip to content

A Post Vacation Pick-Me-Up

July 19, 2010

So I’ve been on a blissful vacation at home (staycation, poolcation, lazycation…you can use any of those substitutions)  this past week.  I did a whole bunch of floating in the pool (beer in hand whist on the floaty chair), and stuffing my face with wonderful treats–there was even a bit of cat-napping on the lounge chairs.  Needless to say, there was a whole bunch of nothing going on.  I loved every minute of it.

So, clearly, I was shocked back into the reality that is work (on a Monday…ughhh) and, quite obviously, I need a little pick me up at the end of my day.

What’s fun and exciting in my (overflowing) liquor cabinet?  Hmmm…Let’s pour myself something I haven’t had in a while.

Lillet!

Lillet is a yummy aperitif that hails from Bordeaux, France.  Made from a base of wine and blended with fruit liqueurs (created from predominantly different types of orange and orange peels…) aged in oak vats for a minimum of 6 months.  Like a fine port, and to maintain consistent flavors from year to year…older and younger vintages are blended together.  Lillet comes in both red and white styles (I’d love to get my grubby hands on a bottle of red Lillet!  Alas, I think it’s a difficult find in MA…::: le sigh ::: )

Lillet is great, especially for a hot day like today.  Bounding with notes and aromas of honey, orange peel, key lime pie and sweet pine resin.  It would be a great as a cocktail base–but I’m to lazy to experiment tonight (re: post-vacation blues.)  It works just fine for me as a “spritzer” in a big ol’ Riedel glass, packed with ice, a  splash of club soda, and a wedge of lime.

Now I can say to those post vacation blues, “Poof…be gone!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

