Skip to content

I think I’m sweating gin…

July 6, 2010

This heat wave has me quarantined my bedroom, the only room with AC. My computer is in the oven that is the sunroom, complete with most likely original single paned, un-insulated windows from the 1940’s.  I haven’t posted anything on here in a while, so I’ve chosen to speed up the arthritis diagnosis and type up my latest post on my Blackberry. Awesome. Thankfully, we’ve upgraded to the HD cable box and Revenge of the Nerds is currently playing on Encore, and there’s a refreshing drink on my night stand. Not a bad way to finish off the day, right?

So, what am I drinking tonight? Gin (with a splash of Q tonic thrown in!) Total surprise, right? Ok, so I’m kind of in love with the stuff. Give me a break. The heat has also made me a bit laxidaisical in my beverage creations. However, I switched it up a teensy bit tonight. I poached this recipe from the Q tonic website and I’ll be damned if I can remember the name, and I have zero web browsing capabilities while typing. Oh well…

Anyways…here it is…

A shot of gin
Fresh squeezed ruby red grapefruit juice
Top with Q tonic
Three dashes of Peychauds bitters
Give a quick stir and…ta-daa! Another delicious gin cocktail for the drinking.

Just a quick note on the gin; I would use something that leans more toward the botanical side of things. Tonight I am using Berkshire Mountain Distillers Ethereal Gin, and definitely to the benefit of the drink. Berkshire Ethereal is a small batch gin that changes its recipe each time it’s produced and includes a good smattering of herbs and botanicals in the mix. I think this gin lends itself to the benefit of the drink, as it has more of a floral/fennel like essence to it rather than a super piney snap that your typical London Dry carries. Anyways. The talent show/awesome 80’s musical number is on in the movie…so I’ve totally lost any and all thought process I had going.

Time to enjoy the rest of my drink, the cool air, and the tri-lams.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

