Skip to content

Hidden Gems: Field Mouse’s Farewell

June 25, 2010

Oh Pretty Things, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways. First of all, I love the fact that your company is called the Pretty Things Beer and Ale Project, it really gets across the fact that this is a brewery that is solely interested experimenting and pushing the envelope. Secondly, the art work on your labels is further proof that there is never an excuse not to be creative, and this is an attitude that really shows in your exceptional brews. And finally, because of this fine creation you’ve deemed Field Mouse’s Farewell, a “rustic golden ale” brewed with barley, oats, wheat, and rye.

When I first looked at these ingredients, I have to admit I was a little wary of how it would taste. A “rustic” ale with all kinds of grains in it? I pictured the beer equivalent of a bowl of plain, cold oatmeal. I could not have been more wrong. At 7% abv, this golden ale has a sweet, subtly fruity character, with a distinctly Belgian-style finish because of the Belgian yeast (imagine a slightly sweeter, more complex-tasting Heineken with a Belgian twist). Even though I never really jumped on the Belgian bandwagon, I have to say that this is easily one of my favorite beers that I’ve tried this year. Field Mouse’s Farewell is everything you could possibly want in a craft beer, and the best thing about it is that it is produced locally (Pretty Things is based out of Westport, MA).

I’d recommend this beer to anyone, be they newcomers to the craft beer scene or seasoned veterans. It’s mild and fruity enough for the layman, but so finely-crafted and complex that it demands respect. The only downside here is that Field Mouse’s Farewell is Pretty Things’ late-Spring seasonal, meaning it won’t be around for too long. I don’t know where this mouse is going, but I’d like to come along.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Alafyre permalink
    June 29, 2010 11:00 am

    I gave this beer to my boyfriend’s Dad as a belated Fathers’ Day gift and he loved it!

Leave a Reply

