Skip to content

Champalou Vouvray, The Beautiful

June 11, 2010

I became familiar with this awesome little sparkler about two years back when I was working at a wine bar in Annapolis, MD. My girlfriend and I lovingly referred to the wine as The Beautiful and recommended it under that psuedo name. Champalou Vouvray Brut NV smells like fresh summer greens and is extremely delicate. It features a toastiness reiminiscent of its big sister, Champagne, and sails smoothly across your palate with ripe fruit and a totally dry finish. Sadly, my trendy wine bar closed for some pretty lame reasons and I’ve had a real bum of a time trying to find this Kermitt Lynch wonder. 

Recently, Andrea placed Champalou upon the shelves at Andover Liquors after the wine staff blindly tasted three other sparking Vouvrays. My Champalou won hands down and I almost pee’ed my pants. Now, the Beautiful sits on our shelves right smack in between Prosecco and Champagne. Not only does this brut sparkler give any comparably priced Champagne bottle a run for its money, but I recently learned Champalou Vouvray comes from a holistic background. Right in the heart of Vouvray, France, co-owners Didier and Catherine Champalou, practice sustainable farming and are part of cadre of wine growers commited to respecting the enviroment and maintaining balance between soils, terrior and limiting chemicals.

So, that’s pretty cool. Regardless of HOW they make favorite bottle of bubble – and I kinda don’t really care – every time I re-open a bottle of Champalou Vouvray, I’m reminded of why it knocks the socks off of Champagne! This is of course,  my humble opinion. I’ve given the bubbling treat away as a wedding gift, a birthday present and it’s always been well received. If you’re buying the Beautiful for yourself, might I suggest that you cut up some fresh lettuce with a citrus olive oil drizzle and maybe slap on a couple slices of avocado alongside your flute of streaming bubbles!

Gulp accordling.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Catherine permalink
    June 13, 2010 12:05 am

    Mmm….sounds wonderful! We were just looking for a new bubbly to try and your “Beautiful” sounds like the perfect fit. Thanks so much for the tip and for the food accompaniment ideas. I’ve always had good luck following your suggestions, and this sounds like a wonderful early summer combination. I trust this will be another hit!

  2. Maggie permalink
    June 26, 2010 6:55 pm

    AND it’s organic!!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

