Skip to content

Celebrating El Seis de Mayo

May 7, 2010

“What’s that?”, you’re saying to yourself…Well, “El Seis de Mayo” is a very special day in my book.  I have a day off…and  I choose to celebrate by drinking margaritas…three ways.  Hooray!  (Ok, so that’s kind of a half truth.  I had every intention of celebrating “cinco de Mayo” with margaritas…three ways…but I drank two and fell asleep.  So my Mexican celebration gets a “closing ceremonies” of sorts.  Not a bad idea, right?)  I’m not really the biggest proponent for celebrating those “miscellaneous”  holidays…Thanksgiving and Christmas are about all you get out of me.  I may knock back a Murphy’s on St Paddy’s and a glass (ok I won’t lie again…a bottle) of Champagne on New Years — but I don’t like to go out, be social, or drink heavily on these otherwise celebratory holidays.  Yesterday was a beautiful and sunny day and the creative juices were flowing —  so why not celebrate “the Cinco” with some margaritas and tacos (…mmm…tacos!)  So  $130  bucks later, here I am with 3 botles of delicious tequila.  I could go on and on and wax poetic about each one of the tequilas I bought…but I won’t.  Maybe another time….but here’s the simple information.  I wanted to get one each expression; a blanco, reposado & añjeo…and I wanted to buck the trend of your typical “brands” — i.e;  Cabo, Cuervo, Patron, etc.  I decided on Herradura Blanco, El Jimador Reposado & El Mayor Añjeo.  So yeah…thats about it.  Since its late spring–there is a TON of fresh fruit out there, all nice and ripe, so I figured I would whip up some fresh ‘n fruity beverages!  (A note about my creative method–it’s not the quickest way to make a drink.  I like to use as many fresh ingredients out there — and it takes a while to prepare everything.  And I tend to make a mess…but , then again, most people are a lot neater than me!  Regardless of being a neatnik or not, if you plan on making a bunch of these factor in a good amount of prep time!) On to the concoctions…

The Watermelon Margarita:

2 oz Herradura Blanco
1 oz Orange liqueur
Dash of Dekuyper Watermelon Schnapps
Juice of ½  a lime
3 oz Watermelon puree (about ½ c seedless watermelon, pureed until smooth)
Kosher Salt

1) If desired, run a slice of lime around the rim of the glass, dip in salt.  Fill glass with ice.
2) Fill shaker with ice, add all ingredients.
3) Shake vigorously, strain into glass. Garnish with a slice of watermelon
Note:  The watermelon pulp inhibits straining the drink out of the shaker…this is normal
 

The Pineapple-Cilantro Margarita:

2 oz El Jimador Reposado
1 oz Orange liqueur
Juice of ¼  a lemon
3 oz Pineapple puree (about ½ c pineapple, pureed until smooth)
1 Tsp Simple Syrup
10 Cilantro Leaves; fresh
Kosher salt

1) If desired, run a slice of lemon around the rim of the glass, dip in salt.  Fill glass with ice.
2) Fill shaker with ice, add all ingredients.
3) Shake vigorously, strain into glass. Garnish with a wheel of lemon and a sprig of cilantro

The Chili Mango Margarita:

2 oz El Mayor Añjeo
1 oz Orange liqueur
Juice of ½  a lime
3 oz Mango puree (about ½ c mango, pureed until smooth)
1/2 Tsp Chipotle Chili Powder & 1 Tbsp Sugar, mixed

1) If desired, run a slice of lime around the rim of the glass, dip in sugar mixture.  Fill glass with ice.
2) Fill shaker with ice, add all ingredients.
3) Shake vigorously, strain into glass. Garnish with a wheel of lime.

So…my thoughts?  I thought they were  all pretty delicious, but the Chili Mango was my favorite.  The smoky richness of the añjeo really shines through in the drink. The mango echos the fruity/earthy notes in the tequila, and the lime backs up the  fruits sweetness with just enough citric bite to balance it out.  The chipotle/sugar rimmer is great too–because the smoked chili echos the smoke nuances in the tequila…but the sugar’s just for fun! 

Happy Drinking!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

