Skip to content

Who would believe the wine girl drank a cocktail???

April 30, 2010

pretty pink bottles all lined up in a row!

I have my hands full with the best job in the world — tasting and sipping wine for a living!   I don’t drink anything but wine – never beer or even a spirit.  There isn’t enough time in the day for something new.  I go to trade tastings and everyone in the business craves a beer after tastings hundreds of wines all afternoon. Not me – I love the juice and have a crisp white after a tasting – that’s my lift for a tired palate… 

However, one day not so long ago – I tasted a new line of sake’s for the store.  I came across sparkling sake that was called “love princess.”  It’s color is a delicate pink and smells of guava, currants and lots of floral notes on the finish. The sake was unique — it was dry but left your palate dancing for more.  Also, as a plus, it has bubbles – now I am a lover of anything that bubbles in the glass.  Bubbles make everything better!!  (In this wine girls opinion; and we all have one…. ) 

After I arrived home after a long day at the store, I started thinking about my new “friend.”  “What would happen if I mixed this with a little vodka,” I said out loud to myself ( I don’t think I have ever thought about vodka…ever !! ) Ok, so it’s pink and it has bubbles and I am a “girly girl” so maybe that’s why it pulled on my heart strings?  A little shake in the shaker – do I even own one of those?   I tried it; 2 parts sparkling sake and one part vodka.  Add a  little ice and  little shake – delicious!  This would be perfect at parties or on a Saturday afternoon after a long day at the wine store – maybe I WILL have it after a trade show when all my friends in the business are drinking beer… 

Oh no, what’s happening to the wine girl – has she gone mad for cocktails?  Stay tuned!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Annette Ullrich permalink
    April 30, 2010 9:29 pm

    Andrea,

    What a fabulous story, I love your detail! I must try a little bubble in my life, as you said we must satisfy the girlie girl occasionally.

    Enjoy the weekend!
    A

  2. M. Alise Manley permalink
    April 30, 2010 11:51 pm

    So glad you joined the blog! Sounds delish and I’d be happy to drink it with you.

    ~A

  3. Catie permalink
    May 6, 2010 6:33 am

    Hmmmm…Sake and Vodka? You have never steered me wrong before, and you made it sound so refreshing. I just might have to try it! Nice piece, by the way. I’m enjoying this blog!

  4. Tom Ellis permalink
    June 23, 2010 2:09 pm

    Thanks for sharing…i love vodka but not Sake…but i would be willing to give it a shot.

    great story.

    t

Leave a Reply

